Lucky I Am Not.

Blog

Whenever I tell people how many places I’ve been to, how many amazing things I’ve seen and what my future plans are, almost everyone’s initial response is:

 “You’re so lucky!”

And this bothers me. A lot.

 I’m not lucky.

Luck implies that these events have happened to me outside my control.

Luck implies that I have had absolutely nothing to do with it.

And this pisses me off.

I completely understand that they (the people saying it) aren’t meaning to be disrespectful, and it’s just something you say in the moment. But when it’s said, the sayer does not realize, that in that moment, in those words, you have just put me down, and belittled everything I have accomplished.

In reality, I have worked my ass off since I was 15 years old to be able to afford and be able to travel around the world as much as I have. I have had a little help along the way from my parents; lending me money when I ran out in Europe. Twice. Also, for letting live me at home for the year while I was saving up money to go to Australia. And for that I am eternally grateful.

But I have put seeing the world as a top priority in my life; above buying a house, settling down, going to university or raising a family. Every other person does the same thing, but they choose raising a family, marriage, owning a business, or getting a degree. Why is travel put in a different category? There is no difference, just a different objective.

Now, I have posted something like this before, on my Facebook wall. So before the comments come, let me say this.

I am not lucky, but I am fortunate to be born in a 1st world country. This was not my choice.

I am not lucky, but I am fortunate to be in a middle class family. This was not my choice.

I am not lucky, but I am fortunate that I have a healthy body and a healthy mind. This is not my choice.

I am not lucky, but I am fortunate to have a loving, caring family who supports (sometimes begrudgingly) every decision I have made in my life. This is not my choice (But if I had to choose, I would choose them.)

So that’s my little blurb of the day. Let the haters hate. Bring on the comments.

Leave a Reply

