The Road So Far – Belgium Week I

Blog, Road So Far

Note: all of the photos posted are from my iPhone, so I apologize for the small size and the sometimes not so good quality. 

It has been seven days since I arrived back in Belgium, and I only have seven more to go.

I’ve actually been really lucky with the weather so far – with sun and happiness everywhere. But now Belgium is showing her true colours.

It’s freaking cold. And rainy. Even as a Canadian I have a chill straight to my bones.

So I’m huddled up in a Starbucks in Leuven, where I paid the equivalent of $7 on a hot chocolate. But I have free WIFI, so all is not lost.

When I first got here last Wednesday morning, I was absolutely exhausted. I tried to go down the up escalator. I gave the teller at a corner store Canadian money instead of Euros. And I forgot to print out a map of where my hostel was in Antwerpen.

Shit.

Well, after being an absolute moron for the first couple of hours, I found a McDonald’s with wifi, found my hotel, and promptly napped for about 4 hours.

My first French Fries in Belgium... This, my dears, is heaven.

My first French Fries in Belgium… This, my dears, is heaven.

This is the Cathedral of Antwerpen

This is the Cathedral of Antwerpen

Antwerpen Station, one of the most beautiful train stations in Europe

Antwerpen Station, one of the most beautiful train stations in Europe

After that, everything went smoothly. I stayed in Antwerpen until Saturday, eating everything in sight and connecting with a friend who is studying there and being taken to a stupidly fancy, expensive Dinner where we sat between politicians and a Belgian actor. Food was amazing!

The restaurant that I went to was called the Sir Anthony van Dijck restaurant, by reservation only. It’s situated in a small alley by the Cathedral, and if you’re looking for a fancy wine and dinner night I would suggest it. I had the roasted duck breast, and it was to die for.

On Saturday I made my way to Balen, one of the tiny villages where I lived a couple of years ago, to meet up with some of my best friends. We spent the night playing drinking games and laughing, and I finally got to drink my beloved Eristoff Red Vodka again. We played rock and metal music, danced and sang, and had a really really really good time. Thank you guys!

My first Belgian Beer... :D

My first Belgian Beer… 😀

On Sunday, absolutely exhausted, I made my way to Ghent (I promptly missed my train and arrived an hour and a half late) and stayed with my other friend for the next two nights, watching movies and making sushi. We explored a bit of Ghent, and though I was tired and a little cranky, I enjoyed myself a lot.

the Ghent Cathedral

the Ghent Cathedral

Homemade Sushi - Best dinner ever

Homemade Sushi – Best dinner ever

That brings me here. Shivering. In the cold. In a Starbucks. With my overpriced hot chocolate that is quickly going cold.

Me, soaking wet from the rain but still smiling because I'm in Belgium :)

Me, soaking wet from the rain but still smiling because I’m in Belgium 🙂

Not that I’m complaining or anything 🙂

One thought on “The Road So Far – Belgium Week I

Leave a Reply

