In Photos – Royal Botanical Gardens, Sydney

Australia, Blog

Stumbling past the pushing bustling busy people at the Sydney Opera House, all posing to take selfies with the House, I see a break in the crowd. I make a run for it, almost tripping over a group of Japanese tourists who stopped in front of me to take yet more photos, and come to a gateway. Less people. I can breathe again. I wander through the gate, and like Alice in Wonderland is transported into a different world. 

I went from the bustling city of Sydney into a tranquil Garden, and I seemed to be the only one there. 

You can’t hear the city anymore, actually you forget you’re in Sydney at all! If you look past the trees away from the water you can still see the high-rises in the distance, so I just turn the other way. This is the first time I’ve ever lived in a concrete jungle, so as I walk through the Gardens I’m overjoyed to find a place I can run away to when the city becomes too much.

I suggest going to the gardens on a Sunday morning, at around 9am. That’s when I went the second time, and there are people laying on the grass and a couple joggers, but other than that not very many people. It took me about 3 hours to wander around the entire thing – I sat in the Gazebo at the rose garden for half an hour just to enjoy it. I highly suggest it if you have some time to “kill” in Sydney.

Now! Onto some of the photos! Again, all comments and suggestions are welcome 🙂

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0197

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0210

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0214

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0230

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0242

Pretty sweet little sundial

Pretty sweet little sundial

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0245

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0249

I freakin love these purple trees

I freakin love these purple trees

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0262

The rose garden

The rose garden

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0275

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0280

Parrots! They were flying everywhere, but loved this tree because of the berries

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0300

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0301

These little birds were walking around absolutely everywhere. I have no idea what they are.

These little birds were walking around absolutely everywhere. I have no idea what they are.

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0314

Nov Sydney 2014 Edit-0315

A distant view of the Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge through some flowers

A distant view of the Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge through some flowers – in black and white

2 thoughts on “In Photos – Royal Botanical Gardens, Sydney

Leave a Reply

