Australia Day Weekend 2015

Australia, Blog

Caution: This is a huge post with lots of pictures. Read if you dare!


So Australia Day weekend was absolutely crazy, but so much fun! Australia Day is January 26th, which happened to land on a Monday this year, so I had a 4 day weekend to myself! Woo hoo!! 

So like the caution above, I took a lot of photos… And I will put a quick blab with each section of what was going on, but a photo says a thousand words!

Saturday – Tiramisu and Selfies

IMG_5392

IMG_5433

IMG_5411

This was taken with my iPhone, I got a better photo later with my camera. See below!

IMG_5443

A good afternoon spent with friends eating tiramisu in Circular Quay, and then I decided to take a wander by myself around the Rocks back home. I accidentally stumbled upon Observatory Hill, so I sat (took a couple selfies…) and enjoyed the gorgeous view surrounding me.

There were also huge bats flying above our heads! All in all pretty cool

Apparently there was an open air opera show airing that night that my friend Kitty invited me to, I was of course late and missed a good chunk of the first half, but the second half was beautiful. Now I’m not normally an opera person, but listening to it while relaxing on the grass hoping it won’t rain on you makes it absolutely breathtaking.

Sunday – Chocolate, Stars and A Lack of Cockatoos

My milkshakes bring all the boys to the yard… Or.. You know… Not…

Sunday was really busy! I met up with some of my friends at Wynyard, where we immediately went to Max Brenners. If you don’t know what this is, it’s literally the best chocolate shop in Sydney. Though it’s quite expensive, the hot chocolates and milkshakes are absolutely delicious. If you’re in Sydney, I recommend going to one (there is a Max Brenners pretty much everywhere you go) and even compared to spending time in Belgium (chocolate capital of the world) this is easily just as good!

I have to say this would be a gorgeous spot for a wedding

After stuffing ourselves and almost rolling out of the chocolate shop, I directed my friends to Observatory Hill so they can see the beauty in all its glory! The observatory itself has free entry, and was actually the first timepiece in Sydney. What would happen was a huge ball would drop every day at 1pm (it still does today), and from there the sailors would make adjustments on their times and make sure that everything is done on time. There are presentations that show the Aboriginal constellation stories, we got to look through a telescope at the sun… All in all a cool place to check out.

The only way to get to the island is via ferry

I love how old and well preserved Cockatoo Island is!

Creepy underground tunnel

Finally, after the long search for a place to eat, gobbling down a burger, we decided to jump on a random ferry, and we ended up at Cockatoo Island. Spoiler: There are no cockatoos on Cockatoo Island. Now Cockatoo Island is a UNESCO world heritage site, was Sydney’s largest shipyard operating between 1857 and 1991, and a prison between 1839 and 1869 holding up to 550 people at one time. It’s actually a really cool island to check out, and you can actually spend the night here in a pre-setup tent!

Monday – Australia Day!

Tattoos, coffee, flags and rain. What a day!

Amy's depiction of me on a Starbucks cup

Amy’s depiction of me on a Starbucks cup

Me and Amy at the entrance to the Rocks. Photo creds – Random Ranger whom name escapes me now.

Me getting drenched. Photo creds – Amy Smith

Some rocking hats I must say

Funnest part of the day!

Crazy times were had at The Rocks hiding from the rain, looking through markets, crazy photos, playing on drums, playing an agonizingly long game of snakes and ladders, and watching some outdoor concerts. Add friends into the thrall and it was an amazing time! The Rocks are THE place to be on Australia Day, rain or shine!

IMG_5486

After getting some kickass tattoos, we meandered down to Darling Harbour to have the worst coffee I’ve ever had in my life from Starbucks, trying to hide from the rain under an awning was how our day pretty much ended. Awesome photos, a little shopping, jumping kangaroo men that I don’t have a photo of… Yeah.


So that was Australia Day weekend! I had a great time, even with the rain (I even had to wear my hoodie…) sorry for the long post, but you were warned! 

My friend Kitty will be kidnapping my photos for her own blog, Bourne Traveller, which you can check out here.

2 thoughts on “Australia Day Weekend 2015

Leave a Reply

