The Road So Far – Month 3

Australia, Blog, Road So Far

This past month has been more or less pretty tame compared to the rest of my time travelling here. That being said, I have done some pretty awesome things and between working and the blog I think I did pretty good! That being said, I am now caught up on Pretty Little Liars, the Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, and Supernatural. I’m sure you can guess what I do after work.

So on for what happened this month!


Name 3 cool things you did this month

1. New Years Eve was pretty sweet. Meeting new people and making new friends, playing drinking games and drinking goon, eating doritos and chocolate and watching some amazing fireworks! I have to say though, fireworks in Sydney is a once in a lifetime thing. Not that I wouldn’t want to see them again, but trying to get home and dealing with drunk people and the crowds and trying not to die on the trains made it a little unbearable.

IMG_5319

2. I went on a travel trip with work down the south coast, through Bega, Nowra, Bateman’s Bay, Kiama, Eden. I have to say that having a job that lets me travel is freaking amazing. And leaving Sydney for a week was the best thing that could happen to me at that point this month. Sydney was burning me out, I needed to get out of the city and away from city-minded people. The south coast was the perfect solution! The towns we fundraised in were small, everyone knew each other, and the people I talked to were absolutely lovely. Essentially the perfect place for me! Rounding off the trip with a day trip to Watemolla for a swim and cliff jumping.

IMG_5552

3. And the last one was definitely going to the horse races in Rosehill with Josefine and Amy. The first horse I saw when we walked in was named Vancouver. Naturally I place a bet on him to win the race, and of course he wins! That was pretty awesome, on a $2 bet I won $12 (in retrospect knowing that Vancouver was actually a favourite for the Golden Slipper, and obviously an amazing runner I should have bet more) but all in all it was a great first bet in my first horse races! The rest of the day was spent the same way, small bets on horses, enjoying the weather and trying not to smudge my lipstick.

What was the best part of the month?

IMG_5362

What was the best part of the month… Probably hitting that moment of journaling that I’m looking forward to it. I did in fact achieve my goal of last month in journalling, and I think I’ve now gone a little crazy with it! A lot of travelling is waiting. Waiting to trains, buses, waiting to get to a location, waiting for your dinner… And it’s a wonderfully productive way to pass the time! I’ve now put all of my ideas and quotes into this little book, and in all honesty it’s made blogging a lot easier! I’ve added photos, tickets, bought markers to make it colourful… It’s actually quite beautiful and has quickly turned into one of my favourite possessions!

What was the most difficult part of the month?

It still haunts me… I still can’t hear properly out of my right ear, I can’t shower without holding a container to my ear to keep the water out of it, and surfing? Yeah its already been two weeks and I will have to wait a little while longer. Jumping off the cliff in Watemolla and getting an ear infection was literally the worst time of my life. I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t eat, I couldn’t think… My stomach didn’t like the pain meds and I was a mess for a week. The infection put me back $140 in medical bills and medication, and was something I definitely could have gone without.

If you want to read the full story of the most painful point in my travel life, read it here.

My Favourite Photo of the Month

I haven’t been using my camera as much as I should be, I’ve been mostly relying on my iPhone to take photos. To be honest, as much as I love my camera it is really REALLY heavy and bulky, and kind of a pain in the butt to haul around.

But! I have taken some nice photos, like this one below!

NYE Fireworks-0573

I’m sure if you’ve been following my posts you’ve seen this photo before. It’s from the midnight fireworks from New Years Eve this year, which were absolutely amazing! I love how the fireworks reflect off the water, but the rest of scene is more or less completely black. And you can see the bridge in the background so you know where I am! Check out the other photos from NYE here!

My goal for the next month

I only have one month left in Sydney. This is absolutely crazy, and while I’m really excited to get out of the concrete jungle, I also have so many other things that I want to do while I’m here that I don’t know if I can make it all fit! So here’s my goal for the next month: Do as much as I can, do not freak out if I can’t make something fit into my schedule, and don’t forget to blog about everything! I have become very lazy with my posting. I think it has more to do with the editing of the photos than with the writing itself. I will have to work on that!


What have you been up to in the past month? I would love to hear from you in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

